SUMMARY

133RD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING





HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 2 OCTOBER 2024 18H00 | ST GEORGES



Staff & management



The CEO delivers his annual report



Mr Duke Moorosi retires as a Board member



Mr Gordon Odger retires as Treasurer



Mr Chandru Wadhwani retires as Chairman

SUMMARY



04 October 2024

Dear Member,

The 133rd Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday 2nd October 2024 at 18h00. The meeting was attended by 91 Members, 79 voting members.

As per the Clubs Constitution, the normal AGM formalities were proposed, seconded and approved by those present. (The notice/agenda of the meeting, as well as other key member information is available on the Club website and at Reception)

A moments silence was held for those who had passed away:

Peter Coetzee Julie McWilliam
Tony Cox Cecil Mortimer
Brian Cusins Uwais Saloojee
Kay Ellison Graham Smith

John Fell Richard Hartley Van Schalkwyk

Mr. Chandru Wadhwani welcomed the presentation/reports for the evening from the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Jason Bird, the Treasurer, Mr Gordon Odgers, the Capital Fund Committee Chairman John Hare and the Chairmans report. The annual reports (Royal Review 2023/24) can be found on the Club's website. (www.royaljhb.co.za - member login required)

The Club confirmed that Capital Fund had a very positive year in growth and the value for the year ending June 2024 is R 17.9m.

Club Membership has grown by a further 3% for the period from 1654 to 1701. Improvement and growth have been seen both on the course and in food and beverage. With key projects being completed on course, 69 867 rounds have been played over both courses. The significant growth and profit that has been seen in food and beverage, is largely due to events and golf days being hosted.

Following due process, the Chairman confirmed the Board and Capital Fund Committee for the ensuing period:

BOARD

Chairman Mr Dean Harding
Vice Chairman Mr Byron Jaggard
Treasurer Mr Robert Stretch
Club Captain Mr Craig Schraibman

Lady Captain Mrs Ina Sanders
Board Member Mrs Wendy Huddy
Board Member Mr Andile Msenti
Board Member Mr Craig Blankers
Board member Mr Nick Watt-Pringle

C.E.O. Mr Jason Bird

We would like to thank all the members who accepted their nominations to stand for Board positions and were not elected. We hope to see the same enthusiasm and member involvement next year.

CAPITAL FUND COMMITTEE

Committee Chairman Mr John Hare

Committee Member Mr Tommy Burger
Committee Member Mr John Saker

Committee Member Mr Graham Twaddle
Committee Member Mr Tino Rodrigues

The following Special Resolution was unanimously approved by a show of hands (75%) and confirmed by the Club's auditor present:

The Club seeks final approval from the members to access funds from the Capital Fund to build and complete the new 15th hole on the West Course and to start much needed work on improving various areas of the waterways. This is a joint proposal that has been supported in principle by the Capital Fund.

Congratulations to the following members who received Life Membership (50 years)

Mr Bruce Crichton Present
Mr Steve Lombard Present
Mr Digby Levenson Apologies
Mr Peter Roseveare Apologies
Mr Ian Anderson Apologies

Congratulations to the following members who received Honorary Life Membership:

Mrs Wendy Huddy Mr Gordon Odgers

Following the presentation of these prestigious awards, we announced the launch of the long awaited and highly anticipated webpage which is now live.

Congratulations to the following ladies on the presentation of their trophies

2024 Weekday Knockout Lucinda Mohring & Kim Jacobs

2024 BG Singles Sam Hudson

2024 Weekday Singles Marian Ledingham

The draft minutes (non - verbatim) of the 133rd Annual General Meeting can be found on the below link or via the Club's website. (www.royaljhb.co.za - member login required). Should you require any additional information regarding the meeting, please do not hesitate to contact us.

In closing, we extend our gratitude to the retiring Board members for their immense service to the Club - Mr Chandru Wadhwani, Mr Duke Moorosi & Mr Gordon Odgers.

We thank those members who took the time to attend this very successful, positive and progressive meeting for our wonderful Club.

On behalf of the Board.

fason Bird

Chief Executive Officer



Honorary Life Award | Mrs Wendy Huddy with Lady Captain Ina Sanders & Club Captain Andile Msenti



2024 Ladies Knockout winners Kim Jacobs & Lucinda Mohring, with Lady Captain Ina Sanders



Mr Bruce Crichton receives his life membership



Mr Steve Lombard receives his life membership



Honorary Life Award | Mr Gordon Odgers with Lady Captain Ina Sanders & Club Captain Andile Msenti





ONE FAIRWAY AVENUE LINKSFIELD, JOHANNESBURG SOUTH AFRICA