ROYAL JOHANNESBURG & KENSINGTON GOLF CLUB



29 September 2021

SUMMARY OF THE 130th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Dear Member

The 130th Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday, 22nd September 2021 at 18h00. The meeting was well attended by 114 members, whom we thank for taking the time to attend. All risk mitigation protocols were followed, and the normal AGM formalities were proposed, seconded and approved.

A moments silence was held for those members who had passed away:

Mr Colin Barlow	Mr Nathan Blumenthal
Mr Anthony Buchan	Mr Nasrullah Camaroodien
Mr Geoff Evans	Mr Andrew Gunn
Mr Fred Mitri	Mrs Ana Pacheco
Mr Ed Warburton	Mr Andy Wilkin

The following members were announced as Life Members of the Club (50 years):

Mr Barry Bruton	Mrs Joey Coetzee
Mr Russell Bruton	Mr Nicholas Oppenheimer

The following members were presented with Honorary Life Memberships:

Mr Des Arnold (President 1995)	Mr Ian Hancock (President 1994)
Mr Lindsay Morrison (President 1996)	

Mr Gordon Odgers welcomed the presentations/reports for the evening from the Chief Executive Officer, Chris Bentley, the Treasurer, Teran Peyper, the Capital Fund Committee Chairman, John Hare and the Chairman's report. The annual reports (Royal Review 2020/21) can be found on the Club's website. *(www.royaljk.co.za - member login required)*.

The Chairman announced that our CEO, Chris Bentley, had won the 2021 PGA Club Management Award during the year but was also recognised by the Professional Golfers Association of South Africa as the 2021 PGA Professional of the Year, at the annual awards held on Monday, 20 September 2021.

"This award is the highest recognition presented by the PGA of South Africa and Chris is the youngest ever recipient of the award. Chris has stayed steady and guided the business and our community through extremely turbulent and changing times. This award speaks volumes about facing adversity and delivering beyond expectations and is without doubt very well deserved. Congratulations & thank you to our CEO" Gordon Odgers

The members present applauded Marian Ledingham who retired from the Board on the night. Marian passionately served the Board for 6 years and chaired the remuneration, handicap and disciplinary committees. Marian is a former Club Champion, a long-standing league member and past Lady Captain. Her hardwork, dedication and loyal service to the Club has been greatly appreciated.

In the Chairman's report, Mr Odgers confirmed the Club's current project status, which will be completed as planned, albeit two years later due to the pandemic and council delays. The Club committed to the members to reinvest R14m to the Capital Fund, post the developments and we remain on track to deliver this, together with the critical annuity Income.

In addition, the Board has proactively weaved the current plans into a 10 year masterplan, to move forward in a measured and phased manner. The vision remains firmly to offer 2 premium, but member friendly golf courses, together with Family and Health Centric Country Club facilities within a robust, sustainable business model. The masterplan encapsulates all objectives, eliminates risks and is a dynamic long-term planning document for the Club. It provides a conceptual layout to guide all scenarios, future growth and further development for members to consider in the future.

The West course renovation was pragmatically deferred last year, although already approved by the members. The Club now approaches the renovation, subject to many variables in the world and work will begin next winter on a low key, in-house and cost-effective basis.

The following Special Resolutions were unanimously approved by a show of hands (75%) and confirmed by the Club's auditor present, Mr Malcolm Sheppard:

- Article 7.1 of the Constitution is amended to increase the size of the Board from seven to ten members.
- To increase the Board members term in office from one year to two years, provided no rotating Board member shall be re-elected to the same office without special resolution.
- Article 5.1 of the Constitution is amended to the extent necessary to create the following additional categories (silver), gym member, 9-hole member and junior 9-hole member.

The following unopposed resolution/nominations were unanimously approved by a show of hands (50%) and confirmed by the Club's auditor present, Mr Malcolm Sheppard:

Mrs Wendy Huddy	Vice Chairperson
Mr Teran Peyper	Treasurer
Ms Jane Goodwin	Lady Captain
Mr Oliver Addleson	Board Member
Mr Chandru Wadhwani	Board Member
Mr Duke Moorosi	Board Member

The following opposed resolutions/nominations were unanimously approved by a show of hands (50%) and confirmed by the Club's auditor present, Mr Malcolm Sheppard:

CLUB CAPTAIN Mr Nick Watt-Pringle or Mr Dean Harding Majority unanimously voted for Mr Nick Watt-Pringle

APPROVED with a majority show of hands and confirmed by Malcolm Sheppard - Mr Nick Watt- Pringle will continue to serve as Club Captain.

CHAIRMAN

Mr Rohan Sheppard or Mr Gordon Odgers Majority unanimously voted for Mr Gordon Odgers

APPROVED with a majority show of hands and confirmed by Malcolm Sheppard - Mr Gordon Odgers will continue to serve as Club Chairman.

Based on the above and Special Resolution 12.1 being passed, the Chairman announced the Board for the ensuing term (2021 - 2023 | 2 years):

Chairman	Mr Gordon Odgers
Vice Chairperson	Mrs Wendy Huddy
Chief Executive Officer	Mr Christopher Bentley
Treasurer	Mr Teran Peyper
Club Captain	Mr Nick Watt-Pringle
Lady Captain	Ms Jane Goodwin
Board Member	Mr Oliver Addleson
Board Member	Mr Chandru Wadwhani
Board Member	Mr Duke Moorosi
Board Member	Vacant (The Board will look to co – opt)

The Capital Fund

Mr John Rowan had retired from the CFC during the year as he had relocated, and he was thanked most sincerely for his service and contribution to the Committee over many years.

There were no nominations received for the CFC and the following members were approved to continue their service to the Club in the following positions. (*Member approval was given with a majority show of hands (50%) and confirmed by Malcolm Sheppard*).

Committee Chairman Committee Member Committee Member Mr John Hare Mr Graham Twaddle Mr Tommy Burger

Following the meeting, there are two available seats on the Capital Fund Committee and they will attempt to co-opt two additional members.

The draft minutes of the 130th Annual General Meeting can be found on the Club's website. *(www.royaljk.co.za - member login required)*. Should you require any additional information regarding the meeting, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of the Board,

C Bentley

Christopher Bentley Chief Executive Officer

Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club No.1 Fairway Avenue, Linksfield, Johannesburg, South Africa South Africa's Home of Golf | www.royaljk.za.com STORY OF THE

130th Annual General Meeting































